Databases A-Z

To complement our print collection, GSA Library subscribes to hundreds of online resources, from e-books to e-journals, and from image databases to film. These resources are great for essays or dissertations, and can be accessed even when the physical library is closed.

Here you will find an A-Z list of some of the most useful and popular of these resources. This is only a small percentage of the total online resources we provide, all of which can be discovered through our catalogue.

Accessing Our Resources

  • If you are accessing these resources on-campus, you should not need to log in as you will be identified as a member of GSA.
  • If you are accessing these resources off-campus, you will need to log in. You should look for the log in option called ‘Institutional Login’, ‘UK Federation’ or ‘Shibboleth’. Once you have selected this option, simply enter your usual GSA network username and password.
  • A small number of our resources require individual usernames and passwords, but the listings below will inform you if this is the case
  • Unfortunately, our online resources are only available to GSA students and staff and not to external members.

Key Texts

EBSCO eBooks

Read or download selected key texts from Glasgow School of Art reading lists. To read online, follow the instructions in our guide.

DawsonEra eBooks

Read or download nearly 500 eBooks, including some key texts, on the DawsonEra platform. View the eBook catalogue to browse the GSA collection.

VLeBooks

Read or download a growing selection of key texts on the VLeBooks platform.

Archive Materials

Glasgow Miracle Archives

This online resource presents a number of archive sources relating to the Third Eye Centre (1975-1991) and CCA (1992-the present).

Glasgow School of Art

Search records, manuscripts, art works, ceramics, textiles, photographs and much, much more relating to the history of Glasgow School of Art.

Data

Film & Sound

British Library Sounds

Explore over 12,000 recordings of music, spoken word, and human and natural environments. Includes an extensive collection of interviews with artists and designers.

GSA Moving Image Library

Curated features and playlists for GSA Library’s moving image collection

GSA Video Archive

Recorded lectures and public events from Glasgow School of Art, including Friday Events at the School of Fine Art and Friday Lectures at the Mackintosh School of Architecture.

Kanopy

Kanopy is an on-demand video streaming service that provides access to more than 26,000 films across a large variety of topics and subjects.

Moving Image Archive

The Moving Image Archive is Scotland’s national collection of moving image and is held at the National Library. You can watch over 1,900 clips and full-length films from the collection online.

Ubuweb

UbuWeb is an independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. Categories include Dadaism, Futurism, early 20th century literary experiment, musique concrete, electronic music, Fluxus, Beat poetry, minimalist and process works, performance art, plunderphonics, and sampling.

Images

Culture Grid

Culture Grid opens up a wealth of information from UK museums, galleries, libraries and archives

DETAIL Inspiration

More than 3000 projects from the last 30 years of DETAIL journal, providing access to photographs, sketches, and technical product information.

Europeana

Explore more than 30 million digitised items from the collections of Europe’s leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera

This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include entertainment, the book trade, popular prints, and advertising.

SCRAN

Provides over 360,000 images, sound files and film clips relating to Scottish material culture and history selected from over 350 museums, galleries, media organisations and archives. All resources are copyright-cleared for educational use. Subjects include archaeology, architecture, art and design, art history, cultural studies, ethnology, history, literature, and media studies.

Visual Arts Data Service

An online browsable resource for the visual arts, comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK. Includes a number of digital resources from the Glasgow School of Art.

Vogue Archive Online

Complete full-text archive of American Vogue from the very first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution colour. Every page, advertisement, cover, and fold-out has is included, and you can search by garment type, designer and brand name.

Journal Articles

ACM Digital Library

Of high relevance to digital designers, this site provides access to citations and the full-text of journals articles and conference proceedings from the Association of Computing Machinery

Architects’ Journal Buildings Library

AJ Buildings Library showcases thousands of exemplar projects, most from the last 20 years but including major projects back to 1900. Each project featured in the library includes full project data and comprehensive architectural photographs and drawings (plans, elevation, section). Search for projects by age, cost, architect, building type, footprint, location and a combination of these.

Art and Architecture Archive

Full-text archive of key research material in the fields of art, design and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth to the twentieth centuries. Subjects include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-colour page images.

Art and Architecture Source

A leading resource for the study of art and architecture, this database provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, it provides abstracts and indexes for more than 780 additional journals, magazines and trade publications. Full-text coverage dates back to 1937.

Arts Search

Consists of three related and linked databases:

  • ReVIEW provides full-text of arts journals, mainly from the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries
  • Arts and Architecture Profiles provides biographical data on over 30,000 artists, architects and designers
  • Design Abstracts Retrospective contains abstracts of decorative, applied arts and design journals published between 1900-1986

Bloomsbury Design Library

Provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable and offers intuitive, seamless navigation. Explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.

Bloomsbury Fashion Central

An interdisciplinary hub consisting of three databases: Berg Fashion Library, Fairchild Books and the Fashion Photography Archive. Contains reference works, exclusive articles, scholarly eBooks, case studies, biographies, lesson plans, video content, runway and backstage photos from fashion shows, and tens of thousands of images.

Building Types Online

Contains:

  • over 1000 case studies that are documented with texts by authors who are experts in their fields
  • approx. 5500 architectural drawings as well as 2200 photographs of the buildings
  • thematic articles provide background information on individual building types or explain specific aspects such as lighting, acoustics, urban considerations, access types or planning processes

Critical Collective

Covers early, medieval, modern and contemporary art practices in India, bringing together more than 150 artists, over a hundred writers and curators from India and abroad. The website aims to collate writing on South Asian scholarship and foster intertextual reading between disciplines. Each month over 30,000 words of archival and current writing by leading scholars, critics and art historians is uploaded to the website

DETAIL inspiration

A new image and reference database that uses precise, relevant visual inspirations to support architects in their search for construction solutions. With more than 3,000 projects from the last 30 years of DETAIL journal, the database is a highly valuable source of research and inspiration for architects, giving access to reference photographs, sketches, technical product information, within a clearly structured search and selection system, with downloads available. Highly visual and searchable by building type, material, façade and more

Directory of Open Access Journals

Online directory of high-quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

GreenFILE

Offers research articles on all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Please note that this database provides abstract and index information only, and not the full-text of articles.

JSTOR

One of the largest academic databases available, JSTOR provides full-text content from over a thousand leading academic journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Subjects covered include history, politics, sociology, psychology, philosophy, art history, and language and literature.

RADAR

The GSA institutional repository provides access to either the citations or full-text of research outputs from the School’s staff and researchers.

Magazines

Magazines-on-the-Go from GSA Library

Discover e-magazines across art, design and architecture – read online or download to an app for offline reading.

Maps and Geospatial Data

Digimap

Search and download detailed Ordnance Survey maps and data. Please note that access to this database is only available on-campus, and you must register with the resource upon first access.

National Library of Scotland Map Images

Over 200,000 high-resolution, zoomable map images for Scotland and beyond. From 1560 to 1964.

Newspapers

Times Digital Archive

Full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for nineteenth and twentieth century history, detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.

Reference Works

Building Types Online

Contains:

  • over 1000 case studies that are documented with texts by authors who are experts in their fields
  • approx. 5500 architectural drawings as well as 2200 photographs of the buildings
  • thematic articles provide background information on individual building types or explain specific aspects such as lighting, acoustics, urban considerations, access types or planning processes

DETAIL Inspiration

More than 3000 projects from the last 30 years of DETAIL journal, providing access to photographs, sketches, and technical product information.

SBCC Online

A database of Scottish building contracts, including the Standard Building Contract, Design and Build Contract, and Minor Works Building Contract.

Theses, Dissertations and Research Papers

CORE

Open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide.

EThOS

Search across over 440,000 UK doctoral theses awarded by over 120 institutions, including Glasgow School of Art. Many are available for instant download, with others available for scan-on-demand after payment. Read our guide to get started.

RADAR

The GSA institutional repository provides access to either the citations or full-text of theses awarded by Glasgow School of Art. Selective Masters dissertations are also available.

Tutorials

Lynda

Lynda is an online library of high quality and engaging video tutorials that help you learn software and creative skills. Please note that a one-time only registration is required after login.