Subject Guides: Bibliotherapy
Please note that following the recent Mackintosh Building fire, GSA Library is currently closed and access the print resources mentioned in this guide is not possible. Access to online resources in unaffected. We are working to re-establish a full service as soon as possible.
Sometimes academic study, life events, working with others and socialising can leave us feeling a little stressed, tired, upset or even fearful. It is important to remember that it is perfectly understandable to feel this way. There are lots of resources available in GSA Library to provide support, and to help you get back on track.
Get To Know Your Librarian
Your academic liaison librarian is here to support you during your studies, and can help you source, access and use the resources you need, both in GSA Library and elsewhere.
Office Hours: 09.00-17.00 Mon-Fri
Telephone: +44(0) 141 353 1413
Contact Your Librarian or Book an Appointment
Discover the Library
Use Discover to search across our print collection of 60,000 books and journals, as well as the 1000s of online resources we subscribe to on your behalf, all from a single search box.
Your results will provide details of a resource’s physical or virtual location and its availability. Read our Borrowing Materials page to find out more about how to borrow from us and your entitlements.
Browse Our Shelves
There are lots of sections of the library that can help you make sense of the world, learn more about yourself and others, develop your skills, and increase your wellness. The useful shelfmarks below will help you.
Learning to Study
- 001.4 Research methodologies and study skills
- 302.35 Ideation and careers
- 372.5 Arts education
Understanding Ourselves and Others
- 150 Psychology
- 152.4 Emotion and reaction
- 155.2 Identity
- 155.4 Child psychology
- 190 Philosophy
- 305.3 LGBTQI
- 305.31 Masculinities
- 305.4 Feminism
- 305.8 Race
- 371.9 Cognition and disability
- 302.23 The media
- 307.76 Place and meaning
- 320 Politics
- 330 Economics
Coping with Change and Loss
- 153.1 Memory and remembrance
- 615.85156 Arts therapies
- 616.078 Death
Exploring Faith and Belief
- 270 Christianity
- 294 Buddhism and Hinduism
- 296 Judaism
- 297 Islam
- 299.5 Tao and Shinto
- 299.6 African religions
Caring for Our Bodies
- 612 The body
- 616.852 Health and wellbeing
- 641 Food cultures
- 796 Sport and exercise
Connecting with Nature
- 577 Green living
- 580 Plant Life
- 590 Animal Life
Browse Journals and Magazines
All our print journals are arranged on our shelves alphabetically by title, with the latest issues found in the reading area on Level 1 of the library. In many cases we also stock back-runs, and these can be found on rolling shelves towards the back of Level 0.
Please note that, unlike our books, journals are reference-only and cannot be borrowed, though individual articles can be photocopied subject to copyright limits. Alongside our print journals, we also subscribe to 1000s of electronic journals.
You may find the following journals and magazines particularly useful:
Relax With Our Collections
Relax with our Fiction, Graphic Fiction and Poetry sections and discover fascinating stories and insights.
Watch films, animations and documentaries with our DVD collection. It is located on Level 0 of the library and provides around 2000 artists’ films, documentaries, animations and movies. Our Borrowing Material page provides information on your borrowing entitlements. You can also discover more about artists’ moving image in our Moving Image Library blog.
Our eMagazines service allows you to discover digital magazines across art, design and architecture, and read them online. For many of our magazines, past issues are also available for you. You can even download our e-magazines to your mobile device for offline reading – perfect for when you are out and about.
Our Zine Library can be found next to the current journals on Level 1 of the Library. As well as DIY publications by artists, the zine collection also contains small-press publications about race, economics, identity, society, and politics. You can find our more about the zines we hold on our dedicated Tumblr. You can also submit your own zines anonymously to the collection via our three postboxes, situated respectively by our main Service Desk, next to the Zine Library itself, and in the Vic bar.
Study Skills and Academic Writing
Learn how to find the information you need, critically evaluate it, and reference it correctly in your dissertations and projects with InfosmART, our award-winning portfolio of easy-to-follow interactive modules in study and research skills.
You will find books on study skills, research methodologies and academic writing at 001.4 on the library shelves.
Other Sources of Support at GSA
Outside the library, there are lots of other sources of support, guidance and help available to you across GSA:
- Learning Support
- Student Societies and Groups
- Careers and Professional Practice
- Student Welfare
- Counselling Service
- Disability Support
The Empathy Library
The Empathy Library is a free online library dedicated to the act of empathy. What might it be like to be a child growing up in Tehran, or to be born without sight, or to be a soldier fighting someone else’s war? The library takes you on these journeys into unknown worlds.
Macmillan @ Glasgow City Libraries
Glasgow City Libraries provide dedicated information and support for those affected by cancer, in partnership with Macmillan. These resources are available free within 33 local public library across the city. Macmillan has also put together a list of recommended readings for those living with cancer, their friends, families, and carers.
Aye Mind is an online platform that encourages positive approaches to wellbeing by providing links to a range of free digital wellbeing apps and resources. You can narrow down by a range of different issues, including anxiety, stress, depression, LGBTQI, mindfulness and self harm to name a few.
Student Minds is the UK’s charity for student mental health. They work with students, service users, professionals and academics to develop new and innovative ways to improve the mental health of students. Check out their list of resources that help support students through different challenges, including starting university or looking after your finances.