Subject Guides: Business Skills and Creative Entrepreneurship

business-and-creative-entrepreneurship

This quick guide provides you with information on the collections, services and facilities that are useful for your subject area, all helpfully gathered together in one place.

Get To Know Your Librarian

Your academic liaison librarian is here to support you during your studies, and can help you source, access and use the resources you need, both in GSA Library and elsewhere

David Buri
Office Hours: 09.00-17.00 Mon-Fri
Telephone: +44(0) 141 353 4701
David on RADAR
Contact Your Librarian or Book an Appointment

Discover the Library

Use Discover to search across our print collection of 60,000 books and journals, as well as the 1000s of online resources we subscribe to on your behalf, all from a single search box.

Your results will provide details of a resource’s physical or virtual location and its availability. Read our Borrowing Materials page to find out more about how to borrow from us and your entitlements.

Find Your Key Texts

Your programme leaders or tutors may provide lists of key texts that you are required to read as part of your studies. To access your list of texts, log into Canvas and browse the left-hand menu of your course.

Reference copies of most of your required readings will be held at our Service Desk and can be borrowed for up to 3 hours. Extra copies, where possible, can be found on the open shelves and borrowed for 3 weeks. These are complemented, where available, by electronic versions which are perfect for quick reading, checking facts, or for when the library is closed.

Access Your Course Materials

Our VLE provides access to all your course materials, from timetables to project briefs, and from contact details to assignments.

Browse Our Shelves

There may be times when you simply want to browse the library’s shelves for books on particular topics – the useful shelfmarks below will help you.

Ideation

  • 001.4 Research methodologies and study skills
  • 302.35 Ideation and creativity
  • 620.82 Human-centred design
  • 650 Interaction and service design
  • 778.5347 Storyboarding

Market Research

  • 190 Ethics
  • 306 Material cultures
  • 330.122 Capitalism
  • 381.1 Consumer cultures

Marketing

  • 302.23 Advertising
  • 741.6 Data visualisation
  • 741.63 Web and multimedia design
  • 741.685 Corporate identity
  • 741.6851 Logos and trademarks

Professional Practice and Careers

  • 302.35 Careers
  • 708 Curating
  • 720.68 Architecture
  • 745.2023 Design
  • 746.92022 Fashion
  • 747.068 Interior design

Browse Journals and Magazines

Journals and magazines are a great way of keeping up-to-date with contemporary practice in your field, because it can take a while for cutting-edge practice to be written up in books.

All our print journals are arranged on our shelves alphabetically by title, with the latest issues found in the reading area on Level 1 of the library. In many cases we also stock back-runs, and these can be found on rolling shelves towards the back of Level 0.

Please note that, unlike our books, journals are reference-only and cannot be borrowed, though individual articles can be photocopied subject to copyright limits.

Alongside our print journals, we also subscribe to 1000s of electronic journals. Journals and magazines with most relevance to your subject include:

Read Magazines On-The-Go

Our eMagazines service allows you to discover digital magazines across art, design and architecture, and read them online. For many of our magazines, past issues are also available for you. You can even download our e-magazines to your mobile device for offline reading – perfect for when you are out and about.

Read Past Dissertations

We hold past dissertations from most GSA programmes of study, often going back several years. Many students like to look at previous examples of successful dissertations when beginning to prepare their own. All our dissertations can be found in Discover.

GSA PhD theses can also be consulted upon appointment, with many now available to download or read online via RADAR and EThOS.

Research Your Market

National Library of Scotland

The National Library of Scotland offers remote access to several business and market research databases. To access these resources, you will need to register online. Databases include:

  • COBRA: Complete Business Reference Adviser
  • Factiva
  • FAME: Financial Analysis Made East
  • Key Note Market Research
  • Mint Global
  • Mintel
  • OneSource Global Business
  • Orbis

The SCOTBIS service provides information on companies, industries and territories.

Glasgow Libraries

Glasgow Libraries provide access to a growing number of business and market research databases. To access these resources, you will need to register online. Databases include:

  • ABI Inform Complete
  • British Standards Online
  • COBRA: Complete Business Reference Adviser
  • Grants for Individuals
  • MarketLine
  • Mint UK
  • Trustfunding

University of Glasgow Library

Registered GSA postgraduates, both taught and research, are entitled to access Glasgow University Library’s digital resources. A full list of eligible programmes is provided on the University of Glasgow Registry pages. To gain access to these resources, please follow the instructions in our infographic. Databases include:

  • Business Source Premier
  • Key Note
  • Passport

Seek Advice

Glasgow School of Art

Lesley Black, GSA Careers Adviser, is available for appointments throughout the year. Appointments can be booked in advance at +44 (0)141 353 4482 or careers@gsa.ac.uk

For information on employability and enterprise opportunities, please contact Libby Anson, GSA Student Employability and Enterprise Manager at +44 (0)141 566 1124 or l.anson@gsa.ac.uk

Glasgow Libraries

The Business at the Mitchell service provides tailored support to SMEs and start-ups, including seminars and workshops, an enquiry service, business journals, company information and reports, market analyses, advice clinics, and information on funding, trading and intellectual property.

British Library

The British Library IP Centre provides free downloadable information, guidance and advice on all aspects of business and trade.

Business Gateway

The Business Gateway provides access to free business support services across Scotland.

Cultural Enterprise Office

The Cultural Enterprise Office, based in Glasgow, offers support to start-ups and small businesses in the creative sectors. It provides specialist information and advice, as well as training and networking opportunities.

Protect Your Ideas

You will find books on copyright and intellectual property and how they operate within the creative economy at 700.285. In addition, the following external resources may be usual to you:

  • Artlaw answers dozens of frequently asked questions on all aspects of art and the law.
  • Copyright Hub guides you through how to protect your own creative work.
  • Copyright User is an online resource aimed at making UK copyright law accessible to creators, media professionals, entrepreneurs, students, and members of the public
  • CREATe at the University of Glasgow is the RCUK centre for copyright and new business models in the creative economy
  • IPTutor provides free online learning from the Intellectual Property Office
  • Own-It provides free intellectual property know-how for the creative sector.

Study Skills and Academic Writing

Learn how to find the information you need, critically evaluate it, and reference it correctly in your dissertations and projects with InfosmART, our award-winning portfolio of easy-to-follow interactive modules in study and research skills.

You will find books on study skills, research methodologies and academic writing at 001.4 on the library shelves.

Other Useful Resources

Depending on your interests or the projects or electives you undertake, the following resources may also prove useful to you during your studies.

Can’t Find What You Are Looking For?

There will be times when you require resources that even the most specialist of libraries cannot supply. But don’t worry, as there as several ways in which you can access the resources you need.